Bookish

A Book Review: The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone

Hello, Cabbages!

I know what you were thinking–that I won’t be writing AGAIN even if I already said I will. Well, I can’t really blame you, I am one to grow lazier by the minute.

Some life update before we proceed with the actual review, first off, I’m writing this via my laptop and I haven’t touched my laptop for almost 3 months now–LOL. I know, who does  that right? Anyway, second, basing from this post, I assume you’ve figured out that I was able to buy a new book because I finished 3 which was my agreement with Pups. This Sunday I got This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. I haven’t started that one ’cause I’m really not feeling the story yet, though I hope to read it soon. Please let me know if you’ve read by leaving a comment below.

FotorCreated (3)

As you may have remembered, I joined the Emojiathon and this is my 3rd entry for it! I still haven’t done a post about Emojiathon and the books that I plan on reading for that and I don’t think I’ll ever get around to actually writing one, sorry. I’m still getting back to the feeling of blogging and I don’t want to overwhelm myself and feel like this is a responsibility. So this book falls under the category: “Book You Purchased because of its Cover”

book

TITLE: The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone

AUTHOR: Adele Griffin

DATE PUBLISHED: August 12, 2014

PUBLISHER: Soho Teen

PAGES: 256

Goodreads Summary: Brilliant young artist. Her mysterious death. Fandom that won’t let her go. From the moment she stepped foot in NYC, Addison Stone’s subversive street art made her someone to watch, and her violent drowning left her fans and critics craving to know more. I conducted interviews with those who knew her best—including close friends, family, teachers, mentors, art dealers, boyfriends, and critics—and retraced the tumultuous path of Addison’s life. I hope I can shed new light on what really happened the night of July 28. Fully illustrated.

a

MY RATING: 4.00

Love! It’s like strolling along the milky way!

I am not one for reading non-fiction, I rarely venture out to that genre unless it’s for a school project, but since I’m out of College already, I don’t get to ready anymore of that. I also picked this book up during the MIBF 2016–Manila Book International Fair and I’m not going to lie, I did it because of the cover. I appreciate art and I love the drama vibe that surrounds its cover. I saw it in the shelf and I knew I had to get it!

Getting to reading this book wasn’t hard, mainly because it’s not real–basically it’s a faux biography of a fictional “celebrity-like popular” character, so obviously it’s not heavy on the non-fiction elements we usually see in real biographies. I didn’t expect to love this book as much as I did, I gave it a solid 4 out of 5 stars because I connected with it and if you’ve known me, you’ll understand that a connection is a stronger pull on me rather than a fluid plot line.

PLOT:

The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone was dark and problematic, but at the same way, I was drawn into her. I think the author did such a great job by writing a protagonist who is realistic and full of character. I’ve never read any Adele Griffin book except for this, but I love her writing style. Such a brilliant author for being able to suppress all that emotion in one character and still not bombard or overwhelm the readers at the same time. Her character was written in such a charismatic way and you can’t help but put your attention to her; the entire persona of Addison Stone demands the attention of every reader out there.

This book explores a lot of mental issues and how people don’t necessarily understand them. It made me realize that being mentally unstable or unhealthy can drive you to the brink of exhaustion. It deals heavily on how each and everyone of us have our own battles and monsters to face, and the only we can count on to help us is ourselves. There are haunting points in this book which I felt very appropriate; it was so dark and delicious.

Another aspect I loved about this book is how it was written in a series of interviews with people who have interacted with Addison at some point in her life–both significant and acquaintances were featured. Addison Stone and her different phases in life were narrated through the eyes of these strangers and loved ones, and yet they all have different interpretations on how she was as an individual. It created an impact for me because it’s the truth–no matter how many people we meet in our lives, none of them will know the truth in the core of our individual existence. People form judgments of who we are, both good and bad but we can never trust anyone to tell the truth of our story because that is ours and only us can set the facts straight, unless you are six feet under the ground.

Addison 2

The beauty in the misery in the death of Addison, is that I only regret not meeting her. Most of the books out there, presents some protagonists in the most awful way. I don’t approve of protagonists getting away with their attitude and flaws, just because I have to sympathize with her situation, like I am expected to root for her because “everybody’s out to get her”. In this case, as a reader I am presented with how problematic Addison is. There’s no hiding her dark and wild spirit; it’s almost like I am made to hate her for all the vile things she’s done but because I am exposed to all this, is what actually allows me to empathize with her. I am brought to understand her for why she is what she is.

CHARACTERS:

There were so many characters involved in Addison’s life, and though most of them were significant, I don’t feel the need to discuss all of them. However, I only loved Lucy–the best friend of Addison Stone. I believe she’s the closest to the truth as I’ll ever get to knowing Addison. She’s seen her demons, her flaws and she’s the same old Lucy you’ll see from start to finish. I love her versions of Addison because I was given the privilege to witness the young Addison up until the time before she drowned.

In a lot of times while reading this book, I’ve happen to remember Alaska from Looking For Alaska of John Green. It was actually my favorite John Green book, I loved the drama in that. However, reading this, Alaska suddenly felt unrealistic. Her character was wild and lost and dark, yet she felt flat in comparison with Addison Stone. Alaska was became shallow for me and that’s sad, I’ve loved her since I read the book back in 2013. It just so happen that I now appreciate more of the darkness that surrounds Addison Stone.

FotorCreated (3)

Like I said, this book was written in such an interactive and realistic way that I barely noticed it was fiction. I can’t describe it or review well for you guys, because just like the synopsis in Goodreads, I don’t think it will give justice why this book is beautiful in all its darkness. You have to read it for yourself; trust me, it will be a shame not to have a glimpse of Addison Stone.

There were such great art, and photos to document the life of Addison and they were just so fun to skim through. Also, the model who they got to portray Addison Stone in the book is so stunning and full of charm.

Addison 1

 

FotorCreated (3)

So that’s not a good review, but like I said, I don’t trust myself to give justice to how powerful this book felt for me. I wish a lot more people would give it a go, it deserves to be devoured and not left accumulating dusts on the bookshelves.

I’m still thinking about writing a review for Crazy Rich Asians, or if I missed my “hype” for the book already. But I finished it way before this one, and it was part of my entry to Emojiathon as A Book With Marginal Characters–well it was about the life of rich pure Chinese clans.

If you’re wondering, I also didn’t continue on with When Dimple Met Rishi because I’m quite overwhelmed with the Indian language they use there, and unlike the Crazy Rich Asians, ALL unfamiliar words were translated. However, it’s still my most anticipated contemporary read but I’m putting it off for now because I’m craving for some fantasy books which I don’t have much on my shelf.

Please let me know me down below in the comments if you’ve also read this book and your thoughts about it or if you’re participating in the Emojiathon as well! I’d love to hear from all you so do leave me some love! Thank you all for your time and for the support, I know I’m far off from the great reviewers out there, but I’m trying to give my best in discussing the books that I read. It might take some time before I get back to my old blogging style or for me to develop a new one, but I’ll get there. Until my next post, Cabbages!

white-wall

Leave a Reply

