Bookish

Trading Is Off Limits

Hello, Cabbages!

I wasn’t feeling “bloggy” yesterday, plus the fact that I came in late to work and I had to rush work load because I needed to go to a meeting. I had fun getting out of the office though, being able to be free from my monstrous work station. Honestly, I don’t want to work anymore, but oh well…the need for money is just overpowering [maybe, I just need another source of money].

I’m so excited to announce that I am devouring And I Darken pretty quickly than I imagined. It’s probably the pacing of the story, and the knack for violence that keeps me drawn in. I LOVE IT. Ever since I started reading it, my night phone calls with my boyfriend consist of raving about this savage novel. I’m almost to Chapter 30, and I’ll DEFINITELY be posting a review immediately after I finished this [by that I mean, a day or two after I’ve coherently managed my thoughts].

FotorCreated (3)

Alright! Let’s move on to the main purpose of this post, which is to entertain you all with my very awesome [weird] thoughts. Have you heard of Top 5 Wednesday? Well if you haven’t, it’s a weekly book meme created by Lainey, and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes.

TOP 5 CHARACTERS I WOULDN’T WANT TO TRADE PLACES WITH

→ Honestly, most of the time, I envy fictional characters. And because of that, I’ve never had a lot of time to think about the ones I wouldn’t want to be but now that I pondered, there are a lot of choices. *Chill, I only chose the Top 5, this list won’t be including 100++*

5.RADU from And I Darken

9780552573740

Of course I’d love to be beautiful, and to be able to gain people’s trust and adoration just by simply starting a conversation with them. What I don’t want though is to be such a helpless, needy person who can’t as much as punch back. I would like to be able to defend and protect myself; I would hate to be picked on and to be seen as a weakling.

4.CHE from My Sister Rosa

rosa_hc-rev-678x1024

While reading this book, I was filled with so much pity for Che. I can’t imagine myself being around a couple of psychopaths, much less be blood-related to them. I understood the anxiety that maybe I carry the same demonic genes that they do; also the constant worry that my sister has such strong killer instincts might be what actually kills me. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy plots like this, I like seeing what goes inside a killer’s mind, but I wouldn’t actually wish to live with one—I’d be like a guinea pig for them.

3.PARKER from Ten Below Zero

22529936

I’ve rarely talked about this book; it was one of those that I found out because of my College friends. I read it but the genre isn’t exactly my cup of tea. Anyway, I wouldn’t want to be like her simply because she was physically assaulted. She was beaten an inch away from death, and half of her face bears a nasty cut from the assailant, for no particular reason. I’ve never been one to endure extreme physical pain.

2.ANI from Fault Lines

Fault-Line-by-Christa-Desir

She’s one of the coolest characters there is, and her story is one that I can never forget. Fault lines haunt me continuously, and is buried somewhere in my subconscious, shallow enough to resurface at anytime. Ani is a controversial character, whose tragic accident had no conclusion. I don’t want to be her because I can’t fathom the idea of being promiscuous and flirty and have no memory of it the next day. I avoid going to parties, and I don’t drink alcohol because I’m afraid to lose control of my actions and wake up with regret. I have high hopes that I will never have to encounter this, especially because I literally flinch at someone’s touch, even at a simple touch of the shoulder. The only people I’ve let physically close enough are my closest friends, family and my boyfriend.

1.STACY STELLARD from What We Saw

what-we-saw

Similar to the one above, but this one is just more unbearable for me. To be branded as a slut, and have no one believe me, is just detestable. I have too much concern for my body, I want it respected. I don’t want to be Stacy and be sexually abused, and have people not do anything to help me. This is different from being “able to protect myself”, as this is a situation where the victim has no control over what’s happening.

FotorCreated (3)

There you have it, Cabbages, a list of fictional characters who I wouldn’t want to be. Honestly speaking, over the years I’ve learned to truly love myself, and be content with who I am while looking forward to who I will become.

A million thanks, Cabbages for your continuous support! Let’s keep the hype going! Don’t forget to subscribe so you can receive notifications about the happenings in Written Constellations! If you joined this week’s Top 5 Wednesday, kindly place your links down below.

Also, if you’re looking into getting your books free of shipping cost, I suggest you shop at Book Depository!

*IF YOU’VE READ THIS, COMMENT “I SAW YOU AT THE MALL!” TO GET A SURPRISE FROM ME!*

white-wall

 

2 thoughts on “Trading Is Off Limits

Leave a Reply

