Bookish

Bookish Audiophile

HELLO, Cabbages!

I’ve had quite an adventure during the last few days, which I will be sharing in a brief post [whether you like it or not].

A. MIBF (aka Manila International Book Fair)

→ It ran from September 14-18; and my boyfriend accompanied me last Saturday! I only got 3 books, because prior to MIBF, I already bought Furthermore in our local bookstore. I know I should’ve maximized the event because books were on 20% off; I was leaning towards purchasing my books online already to give me ample of time to save money [leading to acquiring more books). I bought Rebel of the Sands, The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone and I got my mom Tipping Point as a gift for her recent job promotion.

B. I SKIPPED WORK yesterday to go to Laguna. I was feeling a bit clingy [like I do all the time], missing my boyfriend [though we spent the entire Saturday together, and we talk everyday] and I couldn’t focus on work so I went to their house in Laguna. I called it an adventure because what you need to understand is this, I live in the City, and I work in the City too— while Laguna is a province in the South.

FotorCreated (3)

I would love to share a lot of things (both bookish and non bookish) that I do or did, but I figured it might not be of public interest. Anyway, I haven’t found any energy in me to publish any “original weekly meme” or other topics to rave about on here + my work is consuming 9 hours of my day [despite me being able to post regularly]. If you still don’t know, I’ve started And I Darken last week, and is currently in Chapter 23 – so that’s a worthy bookish update. HOORAY for reading time! Funny, I actually read on my way to work every day, and I downloaded a PDF of it so I can read it on my laptop while “working”.

On to today’s post: TOP TEN TUESDAY! Yup! That’s a regular meme here on Written Constellations, and though the original creator of this are the lovely bookish ladies from The Broke and the Bookish; I am an active participant! I encourage all of you to join the fun; all you need to do is visit their page and post your picks on any of your social media (Instagram, Tumblr, WordPress, Blogger, Youtube, etc).

FotorCreated (1)

TOP 10 AUDIO BOOKS YOU’D LIKE TO LISTEN TO

→ Okay, because I am possibly the weirdest person you’ll ever meet in this planet, I don’t listen to a lot of Audio books. I used to be able to function well, even if there’s noise in the background, but for the past 3 or 4 years, I started getting annoyed whenever I have to read and there’s too much distraction around. So today, I chose a few titles, which I’d rather listen to than read [for reasons that will be disclosed per book below].

5.LANDLINE by Rainbow Rowell

41ihvwdy7gl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

All I have of Rainbow Rowell is Fangirl which I still have to finish; I started it but got stuck at some chapter, and just grew tired of the story that I couldn’t get past 1 page. I need to find the energy to pick it up one of these days. Landline though is [humanities] fiction, and as you all know, I’m not much of an “adult” fiction reader. I think I would enjoy listening to this much more than if I will read it; plus, the book deals with a magical telephone that allowed the main character to speak to herself from the past—that will be cool [if I say so myself] to listen to.

4.THIS ENDS WITH US by Colleen Hoover

27362503

I’d say I’m a supporter of Hoover, because I enjoyed Hopeless and I loved Maybe Someday. This particular book written by her though deals with heavy topics on abuse, and it’s [humanities] fiction, I’m not sure if I’ll enjoy it but I think I’d prefer to listen to it as an audio book.

3.ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE by Benjamin Saenz

220px-aristotle_and_dante_discover_the_secrets_of_the_universe_cover

I rarely read diverse books, though I am a supporter of LGBT. I’ve been meaning to pick this up since last year, but I still haven’t because I don’t know if it’s something that I’ll enjoy. This is one book I’ve been eyeing that I haven’t searched any reviews on yet; I want to go in partly blind on this one. I would prefer to finish an audio book of this because I think I will be able to enjoy the adventures more if I’m hearing them like legends told on a campfire.

2.THE GLASS CASTLES by Jeanette Walls

71vbpx0qsml

This is non-fiction; an autobiography of the author about her and her siblings’ experience with their neglecting parents. I’ve never been good in finishing non-fiction or true to life books—probably because most of the time, I prefer depressing/sad non-fiction novels than the happy ones, that I cringe at their sufferings. One of the book blogs I follow mentioned Tiger Tiger: A Memoir and it was compared to this book in Goodreads, that’s how I got interested with The Glass Castles. I heard a sample of its audio book on Goodreads, and the narrator’s voice was soothing and full of emotions that I’ve been compelled to listen to this.

1.MISTBORN TRILOGY by Brandon Sanderson

sanderson-mistborntrilogyuk4

As far as I remember, I made a research about this a few weeks ago and I was quite fascinated by other people’s testimonials that this is one of the BEST books they’ve ever read. Another reason why I rarely read [humanities] fiction is because of their size—and to think; this is a trilogy, DEFINITELY lengthy. I don’t have a lot of free time to dedicate in finishing this, so the only way for me to dive into their world is if I listen to it in audio book. Afterwards, if I like the story, I will definitely purchase it in UK edition, because well…don’t you just adore those breathtaking covers!

FotorCreated (3)

There you have it, Cabbages! My Top Ten Tuesday [which I prefer to do in fives], discussing about books that I would love to listen to in audio book formats. Please let me know down below if you’ve read/listened to any of these titles, I’d love to hear your thoughts about them. Also, if you participated in this week’s TTT, do leave a link of your post as well so I can check it out!

I’d like to give a shout out of LOVE and appreciation to all the bookish Cabbages who continuously support Written Constellations! Thank you for finding the time in visiting and reading my posts! If you’d like to receive a daily dose of bookish goodness, click the follow button or subscribe via email notifications.

If you’re looking to getting your books free of delivery charge, you can use Book Depository!

*Comment “THANKS FOR THE PIZZA” down below to get a surprise from yours truly*

white-wall

 

9 thoughts on “Bookish Audiophile

    1. Really? Ooooh. 🙂 I’m excited! I just need to compose and prepare myself for adult fiction. 🙂 I hope to enjoy them, yes.

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂 I’ll be sure to stop by at your corner!

      Like

    1. Ooooh. 🙂 Was it really good, like others say? I’m not quite versed in reading non-fiction, and memoirs. I tend to be bored, or dread the size of the actual book.

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations though! 🙂

      Like

  1. I listened to the Glass Castle and found myself having to pull over. Stop. Digest. Then drive off screaming “More!” Scary, awful, train-wreck of a life brilliantly written and brilliantly narrated. I have found books that won’t “go” in print and switch to audio and enjoyed them (also the other way around). Give Landline a try on audio. Might surprise you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh! 🙂 I like how you described your experienced with Glass Castle! I shall listen to it soon, once I’ve composed and prepared myself for a gripping memoir. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂

      Like

  2. I listened to about half of the audio of Aristotle and Dante but I wasn’t really into the guys voice. Even though that book is one of my all time favourites. I just couldn’t deal with the voice D:

    Here’s my TTT this week~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh. Yeah, that’s one of the things I’m worried about audio books. 😦 Sometimes the narrator might not give justice to the character, or sometimes you might enjoy a character because of the narrator. 🙂 I had that experience with To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, which I listened to the audio book until chapter 25. 😀 LOL.

      thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

