Bookish

I Promise To Answer Honestly

CABBAGES! Hello, I’m back! [I told you you’ll be getting more from me soon].

I’ve been stalking a lot of book blogs lately, and I’ve seen a few bookish tags I’d like to do! So today, I’ve decided to post about The Reader’s Confession Book Tag! I wasn’t tagged by anyone, but I still would like to participate, and so here I am! By the way, you’re HIGHLY encouraged to do this tag—if you haven’t been tagged, *tag* there, I just did [you’re welcome].

FotorCreated (3)

Have you ever damaged a book?

If by damage, we mean ripped a page, soaked a book in water and other destructible to a book, then no. But I did however, used to crack the spines of my books [I stopped that habit a long time ago], which I have deemed to make the [my] books look ugly.

*Bonus: I folded the front cover of my Mockingjay, but it doesn’t look so bad [forever in self denial].

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

No, I haven’t wreaked havoc to anyone’s beloved collections. I’ve always been careful with other people’s books as much as I am with mine. As a book lover who doesn’t like lending books, I understand how hard it is to trust someone else with your precious gems.

How long does it take you to read a book?

Because I am bitter on how much change there have been, we will be discussing this matter in my own way.

PAST: [as in before I had a job, before I entered adult life], I could finish a 400-page novel in 3-4 days.

PRESENT: [as in now that I’ve been a prisoner of the corporate life], na-da. Kidding. It depends; the number of days [months], varies.

Books that you haven’t finished?

Well  as I have answered above, my reading pace has dwindled down by a million notch, I have quite a number of started books that I haven’t finished. No judgments. A lot of readers are guilty of this too!

School for Good and Evil book 2, Night Owls, PS I like You, and Wondrous Strange. I have a lot more, but I will stop the brewing embarrassment coming my way.

Hyped/Popular book that you didn’t like or thought was only okay?

I am aware that I am on the minority when I say; I didn’t like Throne of Glass. I DNF-ed it to be precise. I rarely read hyped books [because I was a weird kid, and stayed away from the bandwagon #hipster ], and it is only recently that I try to read popular books.

Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

I’ve never encountered such situation where I had to lie with regards a book I’m reading. I always read books that I like, and I know I can defend over other people’s opinions—but I think, I could care less with what other people think of my reading preferences.

How many books do you own?

Physical books? I think I own around 70-80? I used to have more, but I gave a few of my middle grade books when we moved houses – they were about 30+ books as well.

Ebooks, I have almost 400+. I know it’s probably weird, that I have that much ebooks but I do get most of mine for free. This was how I survived when I was in College and could not afford to purchase physical copies whenever I pleased.

Are you a fast or slow reader?

I’d like to say I’m a fast reader, but like I’ve said, my pace has gone way down from how I used to read. I’ll rate myself as a “depends on interest and time” kind of reader. [I know that’s a bit like cheating].

Do you like to buddy read?

I’ve only tried it once with a friend of mine from the bookstore I worked in. She and I buddy read Beauty by Nancy Olin. We haven’t had the chance to review it together though, which was the actual purpose of buddy reading the book.

Do you read better in your head or out loud?

I’ve been trained to read only in my head, because I used to read with my mom and she gets distracted from her book whenever I read out loud. I do whisper a few of the words just to test it out, on how I think the character would say it. Also, I whisper the sentences when there are too much activities going around me and I can’t focus or understand any of what I’m reading.

If you were allowed to own only one book, what would it be?

I can’t decide between Tiger Lily or Isla and the Happily Ever After. I think I’ll have an easier time re-reading Isla and the Happily Ever After, because it’s my first ever re-read anyway.

FotorCreated (3)

There you have it, Cabbages! I had so much fun answering those questions! And like I’ve said, if you haven’t been tagged to do this, now’s your chance because I TAG YOU! If you decide to do this tag, make sure you place your link on the comment section below so I can view your post.

*If you got this far, leave I SAW YOU AT THE BOOKSTORE. We’ll leave the others wondering what that meant.*

white-wall

2 thoughts on “I Promise To Answer Honestly

Leave a Reply

