Bookish

A Lucky Guess #4

HELLO, Cabbages!

I’m sorry I haven’t quite gotten around much in the community; I’m just swamped with a lot of work. We’ll be having an event tomorrow [to which I excused myself from going, by the way], and we’re a little short in manpower. I need a stress reliever but I also need to finish a lot of tasks, so this will be a quick post.

Cabbages? I still haven’t found a book to read. Maybe I need to buy new books so I can find a new read [but we all know that’s just an excuse to shop for books—hello growing TBR].

FotorCreated (3)

Anyway, today is dedicated for When I First Saw You. This meme only happens every 2nd Thursday of the month, and was created by Sophie from Sailing Through Books, co-hosted by Izel from A Bookish Flower. Basically, the goal is to try and guess the correct synopsis of any of the four books featured, based on its cover.

rosebood

This month I picked, Roseblood by A.G Howard. And my my, will you take a look at that gorgeous cover! It instantly drew me to it, I haven’t read any of her books but I’ve always adored their covers. I have copies of the Splintered series in ebook format.

SPUDS SYNOPSIS:

In a place where women are seen much like items that bear a corresponding price, human race is at stake. Beyond the darkness, lives a spark of hope.

Carylyne was raised in a loving home; the only pride and joy of a blacksmith and a shaman, she’s been locked away from most of the world. Little did she know that inside those four walls, is a deadly secret.

A small town in a middle of nowhere, men was known to be aggressive towards marriage; to marry the most beautiful woman awards you recognition, and so the quest began. Even at an early age, boys are concerned with finding themselves a wife.

Carylyne has always held captivating blue eyes, rosy cheeks, and luscious lips. Her smile is that of a vibrant summer day, and to most she’s sculpted to perfection. As she turns 18 and can be legally married off, men had been showering her with gifts with hopes of getting picked, but a year passed and she’s yet to pick a husband.

Ruled by impatience, the men charged their house and managed to cut Carylyne’s face during the commotion. Her parents vowed to protect her, and with her mother’s last breath, she uttered a curse, one that will put Carylyne in seclusion.

A house by the end of the forest, rumored to be home for magical creatures, has become her haven. Years have passed, but she’s not aged. Only a man whose heart is pure may cross the black villainous vines guarding Carylyne, and human race can regain balance once more.

GOODREADS:

 In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera.

At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn—an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.

A. G. Howard brings the romantic storytelling that Splintered fans adore to France—and an entirely new world filled with lavish romance and intrigue—in a retelling inspired by a story that has captivated generations. Fans of both the Phantom of the Opera musical and novel, as well as YA retellings such as Marissa Meyer’s Cinder, will devour RoseBlood.

→ Okay. I need a moment of silence to let it sink in. It’s a twist of The Phantom of the Opera! I never would have guessed, I thought it was a novel about faeries and pixies, just magical creatures in general. After finding out that it’s a retelling, I AM COMPELLED TO READ IT. Is it possible to pre-order this immediately in Amazon or something? Its release is January 2017. I’m definitely putting this on my wishlist, as early as now. [fingers crossed that I can get an ARC]

FotorCreated (3)

I’m interested to know if anyone else has done When I First Saw You (WIFSY) for this month, please leave a link of your post down below. I’d love to know more about you, so please do give me some messages too! Spread the hype, loves! Hope you’re all having a bookish day!

white-wall

 

One thought on “A Lucky Guess #4

  1. Oh this was great!😂 I already knew it was a Phantom retelling because I’ve been stalking this book FOREVER since it’s by one of my top favourite authors! *flails* But I agree it does have a certain faery vibe to it, right?!

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

