Uncategorized

Rustic Roots

tumblr_mb0uhtvMn91rdvzeho1_1280

portfolio_vengeanceRoadCoverTitle: Vengeance Road

Author: Erin Bowman

Pages: 336

Published Date: September 1, 2015

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Format: ebook

Goodreads Synopsis: When her father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, eighteen year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers–and justice. In the spirit of “True Grit”,” “acclaimed young adult novelist Erin Bowman brings to life the unpredictable and cutthroat days of the Wild West.

RATING:

a

3.80 stars

Love! It’s like strolling along the Milky Way!

FotorCreated (3)

I’ve heard a lot of Booktubers talk about this, and when I researched on Goodreads, I loved the every review I read. If you’ve been lurking around Written Constellations, you’d know that I enjoy everything Country – how fitting right? I immediately knew I couldn’t pass it up.

It took me a while to sum up and organize my thoughts coherently; probably because this is the first book I’ve ever read that ventures out to the wild mountains of West. It wasn’t an easy read, especially because the expressions (eg. I’s or if’n)  took a lot of getting used to, but I managed – and this is one of the aspect that made the book seem real.

Setting wise? I LOVED IT. I enjoyed how the entire book focused on their trip up the mountains. Bowman’s narration was excellent! The description made me feel like I was on a horse riding up the uneven ground, sweating remarkably due to the hotness and I can feel the anxiety of getting shot by Apache or any of the Rose Riders any minute.

oahu-horseback

Even in just 336 pages, the book managed to make the characters feel more than just paragraphs on a book. Their emotions seep through every line, and I understood each and everyone’s endeavors. Kate’s grief over her father’s death came out naturally that I instantly wanted to avenge him, as if I were his orphan. The characters were diverse in terms of their personality; Kate wasn’t all about taking Rose’s life, Jesse wasn’t all about the promise of gold and riches—even though they were presented for those reasons, they had other things going on for them. An aspect that gave life to these characters was that they weren’t limited to be just one emotion. In some parts, you’ll see how trusting (sometimes gullible) Kate can be, how Liluye wants to be seen like she doesn’t give a single care, and Jesse who appears strong-willed but can be clueless at times.

Word about this book was that it promised romance within the mountains, and I have do have major issues with books or movies that seem to play romance in either a cliché way or an insta-love or something that was either forced or out of place—and sometimes it’s just about these characters taking control of their hormones. I didn’t particularly like the “idea” of reading about gooey eyes and lip-locking (for that matter), while the characters are out being hunted by ruthless men. SUPRISINGLY (in a good way), Bowman wrote the romance in such a smooth-flowing way. It wasn’t quick, and forced—everything that happened was how you’d expect it to in real life. Like example, someone who’s lost a loved-one and is suffering from guilt doesn’t just get over their grief because they had a charming girl or boy to distract them.

tumblr_mjtnngglFz1s7chf6o1_500

I can’t get over how mind-blowing the plot twist is in this book, the “reveal” came out of nowhere. For me, it’s the most exhilarating part in the book! It was satisfying that I was reading this book for a whole different reason than that of its synopsis.

You’d think this book isn’t complex or brutal, but it honestly showed how cruel and selfish people can be. There’s too much bloodshed, which of course you’d expect in Western stories but at times it can be too gruesome—one thing I’ll say is that, this isn’t something for the meek.  I highly recommend this to everyone who enjoys an real life action-packed plot! Like I’ve said, I haven’t read a lot of books in this genre, so if you have anything for me, please do leave some titles on the comment section below!

Life Corner (Tidbits General Life Update)

 

Some quick updates! MIBF (Manila International Bookfair) is coming up! It’ll be running from September 14-18 at SMX Convention Center! I got some free tickets from a good friend of mine, and I’m so excited! Most of the books will be at 20% off, can you say AWESOME?

Also, I’m enjoying browsing titles around Book Depository, but I have yet to purchase. Do you have any titles for me? I am looking into venturing out to new YA genres, and my heart can’t seem to be set on something. I’ll be ordering by the end of the month [I’m so undecided, but most probably yes], meaning I have a few more weeks to be indecisive of what books to order. I’ve wanted to subscribe to a monthly YA book box but SHIPPING FEE will be the death of me!

Another, I’ve recently taken an online job as a freelance writer. Hopefully this will improve my writing skills some more, with the promise of extra income, which will be for school. Let’s see if this will be a good turnout. I mean, I’ve got nothing to lose anyway.

Oh! And if you’ve been wondering, I didn’t make much progress with the ReadThemAllThon TBR. Vengeance Road didn’t really fall into any category, so that’s sad but I’m all good, there are a lot of other challenging read-a-thons right? By any chance, do you know any?

CABBAGES! We are almost to 60 lovely, healthy [and definitely bookish] cabbages! Thank you all, for your continuous support and patience, cause I upload a lot of late posts—I’m still getting used to keeping a blog again. I am however, a legit office ninja, being able to sneak posts here and there, but too many distractions in the office to formulate a decent post. But again, I appreciate all the love! Let’s keep our family growing, SPREAD THE HYPE!

P.S.  Pictures are from Google

white-wall

One thought on “Rustic Roots

Leave a Reply

