Bookish

I’m Saying Never Will I Ever…

Hello, Cabbages!

I know you’re probably wondering why I didn’t post anything yesterday, and that’s because I forgot it was a Tuesday then, only remembered it at around 11 o’clock in the evening!

It was holiday in the Philippines last Monday, and I was out the entire day with my high school friends and my boyfriend. I didn’t even want to go to work the next day, cause well…I’m a lazy Spuds + I want to catch up with reading (I try). I got some good news [which makes me extremely ecstatic], I finally got my card. Meaning, online book shopping starts next month! Have you got any suggestions on which book I should get?

Just a few updates in my reading/bookish life, I’m almost done with Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman–I have less than 100 pages left to read! Hooray! *pats shoulder, Good Job, Spuds*

FotorCreated (3)

Today’s post will feature my last Top 5 Wednesday for the month of August 2016! If you’re new around here, or in the bookish world (that is); Top 5 Wednesday was started by Lainey, and is now hosted by her good friend Sam on Thoughts On Tomes. What you need to do, is basically what the name suggests–come up with your own list of Top 5. Topics are posted on the Goodreads page, so be sure to check it out if you’re interested in joining.

FotorCreated

BOOKS OR SERIES YOU WILL NEVER READ

As I have mentioned before, and many times, it takes a lot before I read a book or start a new series. I have admitted before as well, that there might have been slight changes in this, but there are certain books/series that just doesn’t interest me at all. So please be guided that if your favorite book/books are mentioned on here, I’m sorry the following didn’t work out for me but I’m glad you highly enjoyed them.

5. UGLIES by Scott Westerfeld

newugliescoverbig

I haven’t heard about this one a lot, but I’ve seen it around bookstores ever since. I don’t even know if it’s any good, but by any chance, is this about beautification? Like plastic surgeries and all? I’m not interested with any books that deals with operation to enhance a physical feature.

So I just literally searched for its synopsis in Goodreads. And I must say, my guess was close to correct. It’s about a girl who’s turning 16, and will be subject to legal beautifying operation. I’ve never been keen on altering something on how I look, of course sometimes I get insecure but it only lasts for a few hours.

4. BEAUTIFUL CREATURES by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

beautifulcreatures

For this one, I’ve tried to read the first book, a few years ago. Obviously it didn’t grab me enough to make me stay interested. Then the movie came out, and I watched it–SURPRISINGLY, I enjoyed it! I was pretty much hooked on the movie, and I immediately thought that maybe I’d like the book version too! I was wrong. I couldn’t stop looking for my favorite movie scenes in the book, and when I didn’t find it, slowly I lost interest again.

Now, I’ve decided that this isn’t for me. I finally gave up on it completely, I won’t force myself to endure long hours of reading this series.

3. FALLEN by Lauren Kate

fallen

When I was younger, and was just starting to discover Young Adult genre, I’ve loved fallen angels and other supernatural forbidden love stories / star-crossed lovers. So really, once upon a time, I adored this series! I would even borrow my friend’s copy of the next installment, and that’s where it started going downhill. My interest grew weaker, and the next thing I knew, my copy of Fallen was sitting lonely on the bookshelf, catching asthma due to the dust.

2. HUSH HUSH by Becca Fitzpatrick

complete-hush-hush-saga-9781471121616_hr

I’ve never read, nor touched this series. I’ve heard a lot of people who doesn’t like it and have no plans in reading it. Seriously, I won’t be surprised if this will be on each people’s T5W this week!

Again with the falling angels thing. Do they even make stories like this anymore? I think a lot of people from my generation outgrew this. I’m sure it would’ve been one of my favorites during the time that all I wanted was to be cool, and be emo or Gothic–you know, we all had that phase.

1. PRETTY LITTLE LIARS by Sara Shepard

pll-novels

This case is different. You see, I LOVE Pretty Little Liars –the TV show. I didn’t even know it was based off of a YA novel. I have no problem reading it cause I love the mystery and the premise, BUT it’s long, okay? To finish this, it will require me to dedicate at least 2-3 months and to be honest, I think I’ll die of boredom. Imagine reading the same genre for a long period of time, without another genre breaking the streak.

Therefore, this is my top pick. I am turning away because it will take too much of my time + I’ve learned that the TV series took a life on its own by moving away from the actual story in the book. I literally just saw the actual count of this series when I posted that picture above–15 BOOKS. 

I had a customer when I used to work at the bookstore, who asked me to gather a copy of each—take note, she wanted them in all good conditions. Imagine my horror.

FotorCreated (3)

And there you have it, dear Cabbages! HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THOSE SERIES I JUST MENTIONED? 

I’m interested to see some of the books you gave up on reading or finishing, so go ahead and comment them down below. Also, have you done the The Book Adaptation Wish List Tag? If you haven’t, I highly encourage [force] you to do it too!

Once again, thank you so much for all the support and love you’ve given to Written Constellations! I can’t express my happiness for our growing vegetable family! I suggest you keep the hype going, and spread the word, Cabbages!

white-wall

2 thoughts on “I’m Saying Never Will I Ever…

Leave a Reply

