Bookish

What’s Next After Books?

Hello,  Cabbages!

I wasn’t able to write anything yesterday, cause I was too busy with work and I couldn’t sneak writing one decent post. BUT today, I am back! As you may have noticed, I rarely do any tag—this is because I am not a popular or instant pick by people who do tags. I have learned that it’s not really important, as I can do tags when I please.

You’re in for a treat! I was lurking around booktube when I took a rest day last Wednesday, and I saw a tag that I haven’t seen done in the blogging community. Are you excited? I know, I am!

WELCOME to: BOOK ADAPTATION WISHLIST TAG

This tag just seemed so interesting when I first saw it, that I immediately thought of my own list. I saw this over at Sam’s YouTube, Thoughts On Tomes; but it was originally created by She Might Be Monica. It’s a simple tag, really, but it’s interesting when you picture it in your mind actually happening!

 

1.MOVIE

Movie

I think this is the overused category in terms of Book Adaptation, but nonetheless, I strongly believe that there are still a lot of good books that haven’t been considered turning into a movie.

I chose, V is for Virgin + A is for Abstinence, the duology of Kelly Oram. I believe this duology can be turned into a single movie. My idea, if I will be directing, I want most of the scenes focused on the plot of A is for Abstinence, because that’s juicier and more informative in my opinion. For those who read this, they’ll understand what I mean, when I say I only want 30 minutes of the “movie” to feature scenarios from V is for Virgin that tackled their younger years and how they first had a love-hate relationship.

Again, this duology does a lot in terms of decisions regarding virginity. Such a good book, that empowers women to stand for what they want and encouraging men to look past the act of sex, it showcase how it feels like to really know someone’s soul.

2.TV SHOW

TV Series

I love TV series, especially intriguing ones, like Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game—both came from published books. However, after devouring 9 full seasons of One Tree Hill, I now crave a more meaningful show—somewhere where everything balanced in terms of individual growth, friends, career, and family relationships.

For this I really see Flipped turning into a 3-4 season long TV series. I know it’s been turned into a movie, which I LOVED [obviously], but I would really like to see it in a series. It’s a short book, but it can highlight many scenarios and can have the last 2 final seasons explore a more mature plot with Juli and Bryce.

If you’re not familiar with this book, it’s set in 1970’s or 80’s that focuses on two kids who grew up as neighbors and Juli, the female MC, has had an undying crush on Bryce Loski. He, on the other hand, was dedicated to avoid her at all costs. I haven’t read the book—yesterday when I was out with one of my best friends at the mall, she was supposed to treat me a [super] late birthday gift and I wanted a copy of Flipped.

3.CARTOON

Anime-Cartoons

I rarely watch cartoons, but animation like Pixar or Dreamworks movies are awesome. Anyway, I’m going to change it up a little, if you’re familiar with “Anime”.

Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu, would be so good for this category! Imagine the characters with smooth faces, awesome hair and fit frames—moving in action! There’s already an existing Graphic Novel for this, which of course I WANT but haven’t had the proper [riches] budget allocation to purchase. Picture those illustrations moving in the TV screen, with bad-ass combat skills; not to mention, the plot of this trilogy will just push you towards the end of your seats, very fitting for most anime.

4.GRAPHIC NOVEL

Graphic Novel

I don’t read much Graphic Novel, I mean back when I was working in the bookstore, I scan a few ones like Lumberjanes and Nimona, but that’s about the extent of it. This category can be extended to Comics, but then again, I only read Archie during my younger years.

This time, I’ll stray from YA and choose a Humanities fiction, Ready Player One. Plot wise? Trust me, superb Comics! I would love to see this book turned into 100+ volumes of Comics, especially cause the aesthetic and vibe of the book seems something you’d usually see in the older prints—complete with the newspaper like format.

If ever, it will be focused on their search for the eggs in the Oasis, combat with the Sixers (forgive my fading memory of this book). It will be so damn cool; I can’t wait to see the sketches of the characters and scenes’ (oasis interface) illustration.

 5.PLAY

Play

I don’t watch much theater, but I would love to see a play for once in my life. If you didn’t know, theater plays, cost a fortune in my country! I wanted to go see either Wicked or Les Miserables a few years back, but well…money.

IF, and only if, Tiger Lily, will be performed in a stage play…I will sell a spleen or two just to afford a seat! Need I say more? I mean, this book has got the same emotional scenarios as the usual stage plays. The entire stage play has been performed in my mind, the moment I had to think for this category. We all know I’ll be obsessing about this for an entire [month] week, so watch out for that.

6.MUSICAL

Musical

I think I have a discreet love for musicals, yes, I admit I loved High School Musical when I was younger. BUT, I’m talking about hard-core musicals. What solidified my love for such would be the classic Grease and Mama Mia —shall revisit those soon, from my collection.

I only see one for this category, Lola and the Boy Next Door. It’s such a colorful story, and I think characters are full of vibrancy! Just imagine melodious song numbers being performed on the stage, which will really match Lola’s personality and Cricket’s awkwardness.

I think if Disney creates this, it will likely be HSM, which will have everyone go crazy [well, at least Stephanie Perkins fans like me will be crowding the theaters/movie houses in no time].

FotorCreated (3)

Those are my picks, and to the authors of the novels I’ve mentioned, if you’re listening PLEASE MAKE THIS HAPPEN! I’d probably need 5++ more versions of this tag, cause I have a lot of requests in terms of book adaptation—don’t look at me like that, I know you do too!

I tag: Polaroid Books

 Infinite TBRList

Paper Fury

Chapter Adventures

A Piece of Paradis

          ALL OF YOU!

Question for you, Cabbages: DO YOU ENJOY PLAYS OR MUSICALS?

Again, thank you for all the support, dear Cabbages! Please do subscribe if you like what I do on here. And if you’re doing this tag, I’d love to see it, so do leave your links down in the comment section below.

white-wall

 

9 thoughts on “What’s Next After Books?

    1. Ooooh! 🙂 I’ve only watched musicals in DVD’s, but I haven’t been to a live one. There were a few amateur musicals put together for school requirement when I was still studying, and I love how creative they get. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations. 🙂

      Like

  1. I would love to see the Legend trilogy’s anime, it could be pretty awesome. And I loooove musicals, but I don’t know yet which book I’m going to choose for that one… I’ll try and do this one today because it looks so incredibly fun! Thanks for tagging me 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooooh! 🙂 I’m interested in what book you’ll be choosing for Musical! 😀 Looking forward to your post. Until the next tag!

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the tag!! 😀

    I can admit I’ve never seen a play.🙈🙊 And I’m not a huge fan of musicals although I’ve always liked Disney movies with their songs!! SO YEAH. But omg I totally agree the Legend books! I’d love to see Percy Jackson done as animation, since the movies were so horrible.😂 And omg Lola would be the PERFECT musical! So YAY I like your picks!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m super excited to see your post and your picks for each category! 🙂 Percy Jackson will be a good animation, actually! It has a Graphic Novel, I believe but I am not sold as much on its illustrations. 😦

      Like

  3. This is such a nice post and very clever. I love your idea about Ready Player One being a graphic novel it would fit perfectly I completely agree. I am not normally one for movie adaptations but have never considered some of the other types you mentioned it makes me think of what I would pick as my own.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! 🙂 Thanks so much, that means a lot. I’m glad you enjoyed it! You should do one too, and make sure you share your link to me so I can see it! 😀

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

