Bookish

A Bookish Errand

Hi Cabbages!

I stayed home today, and I thought I could get some blogging done early in the day but it just occurred to me that blogging when you’re at home seems a bit of a big task especially with all the distractions at arm’s length–it’s definitely hard. I have been literally just watching YouTube vlogs from different people I follow on there. I was hoping to get some reading done but so far, I’ve just lingered on a few pages of Vengeance Road, which if you follow me on Goodreads have been on my “currently reading” category for almost 2 or 3 months now. However, I’m staying dedicated to all of the Written Constellation readers and I have escaped the evil clutches of laziness and unnecessary temptations.

So here we are with one of the weekly memes you usually see on here. Just a bit of a talk (?) before I start, I’ve been meaning to do a tag or a weekly meme but I’m not sure if they’ll click but I’d want to get your opinion, if I start a tag/meme will you participate? Do let me know of your answers in the comments section below. Okay, without further a-do, here’s my Top 5 Wednesday!

FotorCreated

If you’re not familiar with Top 5 Wednesdays, it’s a weekly meme created by Lainey a few years back, which her close friend Sam at Thoughts On Tomes is now hosting. It’s a got a big community in Goodreads, there you’ll find future T5W topics for each month, should you decide to participate and join the fun!

BOOKS THAT YOU WANT TO READ BEFORE THE END OF 2016

→ I’d say it’s not that difficult to answer this, because really there are a lot of books that I should’ve gotten into prior to this year. BUT well, laziness and a humongous reading slump took over and it all just went downhill from there. As I have mentioned, I’ve developed a book buying problem which might be getting more out of control or just reaching a new level because I recently signed up for a prepaid card. I just discovered the comfort of buying books online, but for the longest I don’t have the “means” [aka credit card] to purchase. Now, in about 5-7 days I’ll be getting a prepaid card which is as good as a credit card, just a bit safer in terms of going overboard with shopping.

Anywho, I’ll be stating just five books that I’m really looking into finishing before 2017 arrives. These books are top priority…

5. THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL: THE LAST EVER AFTER by Soman Chainani

6167hRWWlYL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_I’ve already finished the first book in the series, and I’m currently finding my way into finishing the second book. Of course, before the year ends, I’m hoping to get to the last book as well especially because there’s a rumor that Soman will be writing a fourth book.

If you’re not familiar with this book, it’s a middle-grade fantasy book that talks about a magical school where villains and princes & princesses you read in fairytale books are being trained. It’s really cute and light, I love the message it gives to children, though there are times that it’s clashing with each other, making the entire thing sound ironic. But I haven’t posted my review for the first book, because I’ve decided to combine all reviews for the 3 books [and because I’m too lazy].

4. AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White

9780552573740This book’s been so hyped up this 2016, and I rarely subscribe to mainstream [as you all know], but I’m just naturally excited and curious that I already want to read this book. My boyfriend offered to buy me this book when we were out one weekend because I literally jumped up and down when I saw it in the bookstore. I didn’t expect this book to be displayed here in the country [cause we rarely get cool books around here], of course I wanted to start reading it already but I want to finish the trilogy I’m reading first before I get into this world.

I’m into dark books lately, and I’ve researched a lot of reviews for this, surprisingly they’re all good. I hope to  have the same feelings towards this book because honestly I’ve rarely ventured out from my comfort zone in relation to book genres. Blogging really did a lot of changes in the books that I read now, compared to how I did before and I’d say it’s a good thing–I’m definitely more versatile now.

3. THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renee Adieh

wrathcoverI’ve had this book for almost a year now, it was one of the first books I bought using my employee discount from the bookstore I worked in last year. I did try to read a few parts but I kept thinking about getting my hands on the second book. Like I’ve said, I’ve been really iffy in reading a book whose series haven’t released all the titles yet, I just want them at the ready when I get the urge to invest my time and full attention to the series. 51h4w9il9ul-_sx330_bo1204203200_

Of course, I am also looking into reading the second book of this duology, THE ROSE AND THE DAGGER. I bought this book back in the first few weeks of June this year, because I’ve been dying to read this series after being curious of the fairytale retelling. I obviously want to marathon them, since it’s not that long, but I just need a few more time to settle into my “adult life”–cause my work life has been cutting a huge chunk of my reading time, which I do hope to get the hang off by 2017. No, but seriously I’m just looking into starting a business, because I also plan in going back to school real soon and I want to focus more on that than in working a real job.

2. SIX OF CROWS by Leigh Bardugo

A  lot of people have read the Grisha Trilogy; I did read the first book and managed to get at least half of the second book before I gave up on this entirely. It’s not that I don’t like it, I just didn’t feel as interested in it, and I did feel sad cause I wanted to have a good experience with it as other people did. A few people told me that the new series of Bardugo is much better than this, so I did purchase Six Crows on its first release here in the Philippines but I didn’t read it yet because…Crooked Kingdoms.

This is brings us to CROOKED KINGDOMS, which I am highly anticipating so I can jump into this amazing world and just bask in all its glory. This two books just seem to click on me so much just because of the line up of characters, who I’d like to call bad-ass delinquents–I personally wish to be trained as an assassin. Like if all else fails in my life, I’d be searching the entire world for a wicked cool person with mad lethal combat skills who will take me in as a protegee. So yes, watch out for that day [let’s hope cray-cray Spuds don’t actually feel the need to become a hired killer].

1. THE RAVEN CYCLE SERIES by Maggie Stiefvater

The-Raven-Cycle-Series

Oh yes, you’ve read it correctly–I have not read this series because I waited until the last book was out. I know I’m probably just shameful because of this, but hey, like I said I’ve recently just been versatile with books that I read which means that I wasn’t fully invested into this series. I bought the first book because it was pretty, the cover was just to die for THEN, I started searching for reviews about this series and it turns out to not be a waste of my time. I do hope to read this before the year ends, I won’t be promising anything but I am working on my dedication to this breathtakingly beautiful covered books.

FotorCreated (3)

So that’s the list of books I need to get into before the year ends. I have faith that I will finish them this 2016! I shall not let 2017 begin without devouring the beauty of those and of course other books that I want to read. It will happen, trust me [not].

Again, thank you all for your support and love for Written Constellations! I never thought that I’d get to this much friends online, I only asked to have a few followers but now we are already 51 CABBAGES! I have all of you to thank for that, and please do share the word about our little intergalactic vegetable family to your friends, and we welcome them with open books [cause that’s how we roll].

If you haven’t seen my previous posts, just go to the what’s in store on the sidebar to see my archives. If you have any challenges you’d like me to do, just link it up and I’ll get on with it. I’ve had time to think today, and I’ve realized that I had some changes in me in terms of reading so I might do a post for that too.

Also, a shout out, if there’s anyone who would like to buddy-read with me please let me know because I think this will help me trim down my TBR pile quicker. A friend mine used to buddy read with me but she’s busy fixing her wedding, so I kind of slacked off in reading as you can tell [besides work stuff].

That’s it for today, and if you joined T5W, link down below! I’ll see you soon with another bookish post, Cabbage!

white-wall

8 thoughts on “A Bookish Errand

  1. *SHRIEKS BECAUSE OF THE RAVEN CYCLE* !!!!! AHHHHH. That is only my most favourite series in the universe of ever and yessss you must try it! *flails around like a mad penguin* It’s gorgeously written and the characters are complex and those covers = divine. I also am a huge fan of the Six of Crows series!! I just finished re-reading the first one because #ADDICTED.😂 And And I Darken was really epic too! A bit slow, but the characters were such adorable preciously savage cinnamon rolls I didn’t mind. :’)

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg, Cait! 🙂 Your comments on my posts really make my day, THANK YOU, Queen! 🙂

      Yes, I shall read all of those, since you also just personally recommended them for me. 😀 YAY! I shall message you one of these days when I finish them, just to share my thoughts and to thank you for your genius mind for recommending it! 😀

      Like

    1. Ooooh! 🙂 Okayy, I hope so too! I’m just waiting for the second book to come out so I can marathon it already, since Crooked Kingdoms is coming out this year anyway. 😀

      I’ll check it out! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Have you read The Wrath and the Dawn duology? 🙂 IKR! Actually, all I own of Maggie Stiefvater are the Raven Cycle series. 😀 LOL. Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

