Bookish

REVIEW: Milk and Honey

On my way to work this morning [ which, by the way, I was late for the nth time], I continued on the book I started reading at 11 pm last night. It was such a fast read, because it’s a Poetry book.

This is part of the #ReadThemAllThon TBR challenge, under:

Celadon City: Rainbow Badge — Read a diverse book

FotorCreated (3)

31-oDaA7eRL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_Title: MILK AND HONEY

Author: Rupi Kaur

Release Date: November 14, 2014

Publisher: Createspace

Page: 204

Goodreads Synopsis: milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.

RATING:

B

It’s interesting to pass the time

FotorCreated (3)

When I was younger, my dreams of becoming a writer started out when I got obsessed with both reading and writing poetry. I would submit numerous pieces to my editors in high school and in College, some were good enough to be published. For years, I’ve used poetry and its different formats to express how I feel about a situation or about someone. When I started working, I got sidetracked [even in terms of reading], and somehow I wonder if I still even am capable of writing.

→ I love poetry; words that are arranged to perfection. I used to love Lang Leav’s literary works, especially Love and Misadventure. After re-reading them a few years after the hype has passed, I saw it quite mediocre and uses figures of speech over the top. Her writing became too mainstream for my taste, and its meaning grew less significant. In 2014, a friend of mine suggested I try a different poetry book — “;” by xq.

[front cover | back cover]

TRUST ME, that book right there talks about sensuality in its rawest form. It is what draws me to the book, not that I am lascivious or driven by lust, I just have a high appreciation for anything that tackles sensuality in all forms.

Here’s one of my most favorite piece from ;

Breathless, tell me how you feel. Tell me without any words.”

→ Anyway, back to Milk & Honey. It is a book that consists of poetry that loudly express what goes down on an abusive relationship, non-consensual sex, and degrading of women by merely seeing them as sex objects. The book is divided into four parts, to which I deem as the actual process of what a person goes through as he/she matures in terms of relationships.

I love how Kaur did not hold out on her statements, some of them, even though written using the simplest of words, are cringe-worthy to hear. I refuse to believe that a woman will allow men to feast on her body, without objection or without setting everything straight that it is to be respected as much as she must be.

I remember a statement that used to bug me back in my College Philosophy: I AM MY BODY. I was led to understand that I am one with my body, and that whatever is done with it, is done and does affect me.

Coming from an exclusive school for girls, I have developed a stronger take on feminism. Almost everything I say or do, promotes women empowerment (I try). And that’s what made me like this book, a solid 3.70 stars for inspiring women. At the last part, and not to mention my favorite: THE HEALING, the write encourages the reader to stand up for her rights. This is initially for women, but let’s not keep the other gender out–for they too can be abused and taken advantage of, in any way.

The pieces weren’t written long to convey the story, pieces were concise and direct to the point, but it vividly gives the image to the reader. Most of the time, being trapped in an unpleasant and suffocating relationship or situation starts with a person’s insecurity; one who desperately looks for acceptance and approval from other people. This book teaches us to love ourselves first and most, among everybody else because it is only then that we can give affection to someone. It empowers the reader to be the person he/she wants to be despite what standards or other people say. It encourages the reader to embrace beauty in its rawest form, it abolishes what is seen or known to be ugly that society has taught us.

FotorCreated (3)

If you have any other favorite poetry books, please do leave suggestions! Also, I’d like to know, what you’re currently reading. Answers are to be sent using the comment box below.

Once again, thank you to those who really take the time in reading and sharing their thoughts on Written Constellations! I am lucky and blessed to have such nice Cabbage friends like you! To those who have not yet subscribed, please do, I’ll make sure to keep my posts interesting for you to read.

I have one last post for today, which is the general update for #ReadThemAllThon TBR. If you’re interested to see how I’ve done so far, do stay tuned for that.

white-wall

One thought on “REVIEW: Milk and Honey

Leave a Reply

