Bookish

Where Do We Go? #4

Hello, Cabbages!

I am back today with another weekly meme you encounter on here. Can anyone guess what it is? YES! That’s correct, today’s the day dedicated for BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY! This was created by Catia from The Girl Who Read Too Much.

FotorCreated (2)

This week’s topic: A NON-FICTION BOOK

→ I personally don’t read that much non-fiction, and that is because I’ve been traumatized by a single experience, to which I completely turned away from such genre. I think it is only fitting that I share that book as well, in addition to the actual post of this week.

When I was in 2nd year high school, I friend of mine brought a book. It was of a genre that I rarely get into, but the face of a child on the cover got me intrigued. When I read the synopsis, I was initially moved, but never did it occur that it will create such an emotionally scarring experience from me that will change how I look at non-fiction novels forever.

US

This is an emotional story about the violence and abuse received of a young boy from his own mother. It’s a trilogy, separated to tell the story of his early years, teenage and adulthood–but that cover is the bundle, the omnibus. Reading it at the age I did, it got me cringing from all the description of how he tried survive his alcoholic mother’s mood swings. This is such a tragic and depressing life experience of a 6-year old boy in a place that’s supposed to be refuge and haven.

I think the scenes that struck me with tsunamis of emotions,

1. When he was asked to strip naked after coming home from school and being asked by his mother to lie down on the stove as she turn on the fire.

2. [This one’s bit foggy in my head…] When he was sealed shut in the bathroom after a bottle of ammonia have been spilled all over the floor. Now, for those who aren’t familiar, it’s very dangerous to be exposed in such for a long period of time without any other source of air–this is too suffocating for the lungs.

I’ve researched on Goodreads, and there’s quite a big controversial surrounding this giant book. Similar to most non-fiction books, wherein the authenticity of the happenings are continuously challenged and questioned. Let’s say it isn’t a real non-fiction, and the writer lied, it is still one of the most cringing story I’ve read. I mean, I can’t even imagine how everything must have felt like for the victim, and how he kept his faith to attain survival.

FotorCreated (3)

Now moving on to the actual book to be featured on this post…

One of my favorite non-fiction novel of all time, apart from The Diary of a Young Girl: Anne Frank [which is honestly like almost everybody’s favorite non-fiction/historical book], would be an inspiring young Chinese girl, who despite poverty finished her schooling.

US-Ma

[US]

→ This is, as I have said, about the undying desire of a Chinese girl to finish her studies. In their area, where small opportunities for life betterment are the only ones presented, Ma Yan wanted to bring her family out of poverty. One of the struggles she had to face, were not having enough food for their family during some days.

It is such an inspiring and emotional story, told by an innocent young girl who wishes for her own dream come true.

[UK, FRENCH, FRENCH]

[ARABIC, CZECH, BULGARIA]

I’ve never been the best in school, but knowing that there are people who understands the importance of education, I’ve been motivated to finish my schooling. And I’m glad to say that I’m a college graduate with a degree of BS and Business Administration major in Business Management, minor in Corporate Communications–to which I am thankful for my mom who did everything she could to put me through 4 years of continuous study. Now that I’m earning money for myself, I’ll be going back to school to take a Masters Degree in Pyschology and hopefully to finish a 2nd Degree in Architecture.

To those who are fortunate enough to have graduated, whether or not you’re working your dream job, please take that as a blessing. We are the lucky ones. And to those who are aspiring, and struggling, hold on–there’s always a light at the end of the tunnel. Don’t give up because it will all be worth it.

Favorite Cover/s: 

I personally love the US cover because it doesn’t present dramatics; I think putting the face of Ma Yan in the cover, though it’s good, is a bit too dramatic for the actual story. Let’s put it this way, it’s not a depressing, abusing or violent story of someone, it’s a girl who’s striving for education–it is meant to be inspiring, motivating. I feel the same driving spirit with the CZECH cover despite it bearing the face of Ma Yan. It looks strong, independent and empowering as compared to other face covers of The Diary of Ma Yan.

Least Favorite Cover/s: 

The ARABIC cover bothers me a bit, it looks like a music sheet instead of a letter, which misleads me to thinking that this is about a struggling musician who is either A) deaf or suffering from any other physical disability, B) motivated into becoming an important person in the music industry despite experiencing poverty in his/her younger years.

FotorCreated (3)

That’s it for today, and I hope you enjoyed this post. Since I’m not a big fan of non-fiction, I’m not all that updated with what’s happening around this genre; maybe you’d like to give me some recommendations? Perhaps one of your non-fiction favorites? I’ll see if I can get into reading them.

Written Constellations is almost at 50 Cabbages! Let’s keep the hype buzzing, and let the vegetable space garden grow. Oh, and if you’d be interested in joining one of my groups in Goodreads, that will be great! Leave me the link of your Book Traveling Thursday post (if you joined), a love (comment/message), recommendation and of course your username in Goodreads so I can invite you!

Once again, thank you for all the support you’ve placed on this little galactic garden of words. It means a lot to have friends who share the same passion as I have for reading. Keep reading, Cabbages! Have your imaginations run wild!

white-wall

10 thoughts on “Where Do We Go? #4

    1. Which one? The Diary of Ma Yan? 😀 OMG! You should totally read it! It’s truly enlightening. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 😀 Will definitely check out your post. 🙂

      Like

  1. I really like Bulgarian cover but I have to agree with you about the one’s featuring photographs. The French one especially, if you hadn’t said, I would have thought was for quite a tragic story.
    My BTT

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! Sometimes covers that feature faces don’t really deliver the story plot correctly. 😦

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂 I’ll be sure to check out your post. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know there is controversy surrounding A Child Called It, but I thought most of it came from his living relatives. I read it, The Lost Boy, and A Man Named Dave when I was in middle school. It was heart-wrenching then. That ammonia scene plays stays with me too.

    Ma Yan looks like a good book. The Arabic cover didn’t look like a music sheet to me until you pointed it out in your explanation.

    What is Written Constellations? I’ve never heard of it before.
    My BTT: https://catonthebookshelf.wordpress.com/2016/08/18/book-traveling-thursdays-favorite-nonfiction-book/
    Goodreads: Carrie Adair

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I read that his siblings and grandmother did say that he lied. But if you read most of the reviews on Goodreads, you’ll see some of those who read did also say it’s somehow exaggerated.

      I can’t ever imagine shoving my future kid around when I get mad, much less abandoning him in a room smelling of ammonia. 😦

      It is a good book! 🙂 It’s inspiring and motivating. Surprising that there are people who still choose to go to school despite their life stability.

      Written Constellations is the name of my blog. 😀 I love constellations and everything about stars. It’s a simile? Let’s see if I can explain it clearly. Book/s = Constellation/s ; words = stars.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay, I see now. That’s my bad for not realizing it’s your blog name. I should have thought about it harder. I like the name.

        As for Pelzer, I believe the contents of the book are true. I don’t know that for a fact, but I think many people discount how severe abuse can get. People who have been touched by abuse tend to believe it could have gotten this bad whereas those who haven’t tend to find it inconceivable. I tend to believe that these abuses happened. I agree with you that there is inspiration to be gained from the book.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s okay, when I created it I knew it won’t be easily understood. 😀 Thank you for being intrigued by it.

        Funny though, I couldn’t get through another non-fiction that carries out the same story but I devour fiction books that tackles abuse and violence, and I do love reading those kinds of books. I think there’s just something that tears my heart when these abuses and violence happens in real life and I get to read their recounted story.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a good book! 🙂 It’s truly motivating and inspiring! You should definitely find the time to read it some day, it’s super short. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

