Bookish

IN THREE’S THEY COME

Hi, Cabbages!

I know usually, on Wednesdays, you read a Top 5 Wednesday post but today’s topic is quite hard for me. I rarely pay too much attention to book’s first sentences, even if I like them, I am too lazy to store it in my brain. I know, #weird.

So, I wouldn’t want to leave this garden of “awesomeness” without any post for the day. Welcome to Written Constellations‘ first ever WWW WEDNESDAY! Upon thorough research, this book meme was created by MizB at A Daily Rhythm until it was revived and currently hosted by Sam on Taking on a World of Words

I’m such a slow reader now–well since I started working, to be honest. And I’ve read less books after the end of January 2016. If you’ll see my Goodreads challenge list (which by the way, is the first time I’ve done), you’ll bet $100 dollars that I won’t be successful with that, and win easy money because of it.

FotorCreated1 (1)

the-school-for-good-and-evil-2-dunia-tanpa-pangeran_imageAs you all know, I’ve joined #ReadThemAllThon TBR. I’m currently reading The School for Good and Evil: A World Without PrincesIt’s the second book of Soman Chainani’s debut novel. After both girls got back to their normal lives, a wish they made reopened the portal to the magical world but nothing’s the same. The princes and other men, were long gone, with anger and revenge burning through their veins.

I’m just a few pages in, around 95 pages. With my pace now, I think it’s probably the only book I’ll be finishing for the entire challenge of #ReadThemAllThon TBR. Will you send me some cheer and motivation, dearest Cabbages? Thanks so much!

FotorCreated2 (1)

school-for-good-and-evil-book-coverObviously, you can tell from my answer above that the most recent one I’ve finished (which I owe you all a review), was The School for Good and Evil. It’s about two girls who were whisked away to a magical world, where children are trained to be either a witch, a warlock, a prince or a princess. It’s a middle grade book, which focuses on the impression “True friends are ran with the purest of hearts“; their friendship was realistic and relatable. I enjoyed the classes on both schools, and how Agatha was written.

FotorCreated3 (2)

9780552573740Well, if you’ve been to my #ReadThemAllThon, you’d see the lists of books I’d be reading for the challenges. But since it’s quite doubtful that I’ll get to all of them, I’ll most probably read And I Darken by Kiersten White. I’ve been anticipating it 2 months prior to its release date, and I finally got it when I was out with my boyfriend a few weeks ago. I’ve read a lot of reviews (without the spoilers of course), in order to strengthen my excitement and own hype for the novel! I’m super pumped for this, and I hope to like it as much as the others did. I mean, it would definitely be sad since almost everyone who’s read it, said great things about the book.

I did get the other cover though, but for purposes of this post, I’ve decided to use that one. It’s haunting and that’s why I love it, I actually wish I got that cover instead but it wasn’t available in our bookstores.

FotorCreated (3)

A few changes in my book buying lifestyle has been amended by my boyfriend and most of my friends who seem to think that I am too addicted in acquiring books. You see, in our country, there isn’t a local library where we can borrow books, except for schools. Problem with most schools, they don’t carry most of the new titles that have come out. I’m planning to take up a Master’s Degree and a Second Degree, which I hope to achieve all in about 5 years at the most [if I’m lucky enough]. Meaning, I need to cut down on my book shopping sprees to save up money for this, and even though it pains me to do so, I have to try.

I promise to only purchase 1 book per month *whimpers*. Oh well, I’ll live [I hope so]. Anyway, keep the hype on Written Constellations, Cabbages! Tell your friends who haven’t subscribed yet to join our vegetable family in outer space, with floating words all around!

Leaving you all with WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY OBSESSING OVER? Comment down below your answers and let’s exchange recommendations! Thank you all for the support, and as we grow our family, I’d love to get to know each & everyone of you!

P.S  Photo was taken by my boyfriend when we went to Baguio. For those of you who haven’t been to the Philippines, it’s a strawberry “taho”. –It’s melted tofu meant to be drank, with a syrup of strawberry. 

white-wall

2 thoughts on “IN THREE’S THEY COME

  1. Good luck getting through The School of Good and Evil. It looks like a fun read. I always try to think of those challenges as pushing me to read more than I normally would, not just to make a goal. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

