Bookish

Where Do We Go? #3

In the spirit of reaching 44 lovely cabbages, growing in this garden, you get 2 posts in one day today! And because there are two happenings today: 1) When I First Saw You (WIFSY) and 2) Book Traveling Thursday.

Life Corner (Tidbits General Life Update)

I am feeling quite motivated to work today, well because for the past 2 weeks, I’ve heard positive feedback from my clients. What’s bugging me right now, is that since the start of August I’ve been late coming in to work due to road rerouting–so thanks, Government for doing a great job squeezing every moving vehicle into one road. Anyway, I’m just thankful for everything that’s happened to me these past few months (Since July), where stats for Written Constellations spiked up [forever indebted to all reading Cabbages] and I’ve had good days at work. So as I am munching a bar of Chunky Kitkat, I am trying to think of ways [such as activities, tags, memes, challenges, raffle, etc] to keep us all sane and blogging!

Let’s get down to business…

FotorCreated (2)

This weekly book meme was created by Catia from The Girl Who Read Too Much. It’s got a group in Goodreads, where the topics each Thursday of the month is listed on. It’s simple to do; pick a book that fits the topic of the week, and search for multiple country covers–state your favorite and your least favorite, accompanied by a short explanation.

A BOOK EVERY BOOK LOVER SHOULD READ

US

 

[US Cover]

→ This is such a good book, it’s fluffy, if I say so myself. This is the first book I’ve read of Jodi Picoult, though a lot have said My Sister’s Keeper is emotionally beautiful. If you haven’t read this, I HIGHLY recommend this book, especially if you love reading about Princes and Happily Ever Afters. Also, the book has violet/purple colored illustrations, which makes it interesting.

Now, we move on to the covers…

[ UK, UK, AUSTRALIA ]

[ HUNGARY, GERMANY, SPAIN ]

I personally adore the US (obviously), the UK cover with the gold edges, the Australian one even though it looks like a child’s book. Also, I prefer the Hungary cover, the colors are just vibrant though the model’s a bit out of place among all the elements going on.

I have no problems with the alternative UK cover, it’s just a bit cheap for my taste–which I think has something to do with the shirt of the model and with the way she holds the paper crown. I know, I know…I’m weird. It does however, capture the actual story of Between the Lines out of all the other covers, in my opinion.

My favorite has to be UK (with gold edges) by just an inch farther than my liking to the Australian cover–the colors are just glorious for my eyes, what throws me off is the brunette girl reading, she looks like a 10 yrs old.

I don’t appreciate the covers from Germany & Spain. I’ll be sure to run away from the shelf if I see them, I’m sorry. The Germany cover is misleading, Delilah is not a princess, okay? She didn’t marry a prince in this book (sorry to burst your bubble). The Spain cover…where do I even begin. Again, they’ve managed to make it look like a Children’s book–with poor color choice, if I may add. It seems too magical looking, it’s freaking me out.

Did you travel this week? Why don’t you leave the link of your post so we can all book travel! Keep the hype going, Cabbages! Until my next post (hopefully tomorrow I can post my review of The School for Good and Evil).

white-wall

11 thoughts on “Where Do We Go? #3

  1. Thanks to your high recommendation, Between the Lines will be added to my TBR pile. I love the U.S. cover too. I don’t like the UK cover without the gold edges. It looks like a different story belongs with it. While I like the German cover aesthetically, I understand why you don’t like it because it bothers me to when the cover is unrelated to the content of the book. The cover from Hungary strikes me as a contemporary YA instead of a fantasy YA.

    Here’s my post for BTT: https://catonthebookshelf.wordpress.com/2016/08/11/book-traveling-thursdays-a-book-for-every-book-lover/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! That’s good to hear, that you will be reading Between the Lines. 🙂 Oh, correct me if I’m mistaken, but I believe this is a Magical Realism of some sort? It’s set in a contemporary world, but the happenings are that far from reality. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂 I’ll be sure to check out your post. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Really? COOL. Yes, you should totally read this! It’s got a sequel too! Off the Page. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂 I’ll be sure to check out yours.

      Like

  2. I like the German cover, looks really cool. But I get that it may not work with the story, I never read this book so I cannot judge that. But I think I will pick up this book in the bookstore.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I’m glad I can be of good influence to your TBR. 🙂 Go right ahead and devour that beauty! There’s a sequel out too–Off The Page. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂 Hoping to hear from you soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

