Bookish

#ReadThemAllThon TBR? I say: Challenge Accepted!

My, my, my…consecutive posts in 1 day! Well, actually, it’s just because I have too much pending posts.

Ever since I started working, I can’t seem to stop buying books, to the extent that even my boyfriend is planning to have a new [and definitely bigger] bookshelf custom made for my treasures. And because of work, I’ve slowed down my reading pace–meaning, it will probably take me 20++ years to finish my continuously growing TBR [this of course being an over statement].

We all agreed, I am in need of an intervention. 

This calls for extreme help–for the first time, I’ve decided to participate in a reading challenge that is bound [if God permits and my boss] to cut down my TBR pile even by a few inches.

readthemallthon

⇒ Why this particular challenge, you say? Well, Pokemon’s been on such a hype these past few weeks due to the release of Pokemon Go. Now, the peculiarity in this situation is that, I have never been an avid fan of Pokemon. During my younger years, I was merely a channel surfer–it was rare that an animation catches my full attention. So obviously, I was then left behind by my co-“nerdigans” by the sideline, while they enjoy numerous episodes everyday.

WHAT IS IT? 

Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon is a 3-week long reading challenge, starting this 14th of August until 4th of September. It was created by Aentee from Read at Midnight; inspired by Kanto’s Indigo League.

→ Yesterday, I went out for lunch with my department team. On the way to the restaurant, there’s this hooded walk-way branching out from different streets of the city to the shopping malls, people crowded the place–holding out their phones, they were out hunting for Pokemons! It felt fun to participate with the hype surrounding this game, BUT 1) I hate putting up too many applications on my phone, 2) I wasn’t keen on using too much internet (I know… #weird) and 3) I am not familiar with Pokemon–as simple as that. When I was browsing my wordpress feed, I found out about this tag and I thought, why not? Bumping off a few books from my TBR and feeling the Pokemon Hype! So TA-DA! Here we are now, with this more or less long post.

HOW TO JOIN?

Create a sign up post on your blog/youtube or any other avenue of social media, featuring the books you will read for the challenges below. Make sure you label them #ReadThemAllThon TBR or something similar. Add the link of your post to the link widget provided, and also you must link back to the original post.

CHOSEN POKEMON:

→ Initially, there’s a template for this but I decided to make it somehow my original [which is also acceptable]. I had my friend choose a character for me ’cause [again] I have 0.001% knowledge about Pokemon.

FotorCreated

→ Now this wouldn’t be a challenge without point system, right? So this challenge comes with awesome challenges, from which you will earn your points & ranking — and grow your Pokemon! Rules discussed specifically on her post, please make sure you check it out for more understanding [well, basically because I suck at explaining complicated things most of the time].

GYM CHALLENGES: 

→ And because I suck at sticking to a “planned” reading system, I rarely do it. Most, like almost 99% of the time, I read whatever I feel like reading. Planning ahead stresses me out; BUT for the sake of this challenge, and for a changed life [just kidding] I’ve listed specific books I’m planning to read below.

 BEWARE: Choices/Titles listed may change upon the indecisiveness of the owner (me) throughout the duration of this challenge

readthemallthon-badge01-boulder

AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White

I normally don’t read or start a series without the rest of the installments, but I’ve been so intrigued with this one that I’m willing to devour it without its brothers. It promises brutality and butt-kicking heroine, so SOLD on me.

readthemallthon-badge02-cascader

THE HONEST TRUTH by Dan Gemeinhart

I told you I suck at planning what to read. I got home last night and needed to find one that will fit this category, and I found that book from my tower of TBR. All I know is that it’s about a dog and a boy who’s struggling to find himself. Sounds like a tear-inducing novel to me [in my defense, it just said might make you cry].

readthemallthon-badge03-thunder

THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING by Morgan Matson

I wouldn’t really call it “thunderous hype”, but I don’t usually subscribe to mainstream. I’m settling for a semi-thunderous hyped book. A foreword, I haven’t read Since You’ve Been Gone so there’s a huge possibility that it might be either of the two for this challenge. They both have almost the same “hype”, right?

readthemallthon-badge04-rainbow

MORE HAPPY THAN NOT by Adam Silvera

I bleed LGBT! From my previous post you’ll see I came hauling from an exclusive girls for school, same-sex relationships are the least of my concerns. All I know is that it’s about a guy who’s not straight. –I literally just sounded stupid, sorry; that’s really all the information I have for this novel.

readthemallthon-badge05-soul

THE SECRET LIFE OF PRINCE CHARMING by Deb Caletti

History of this [cause I love doing this just recently, recounting events that lead to certain decisions or choices], I’ve been searching for this title since I read The Nature of Jade, but no such luck. Well, until last year (2015), I was able to score this from a messy book sale pile from the bookstore I was working in. This is a very fluffy book as I recall [it’s almost a year now since I bought this], with hints of typical teenage emotional moments.

readthemallthon-badge06-marsh

THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL: A WORLD WITHOUT PRINCES by Soman Chainani

Been addicted to this series, to which I recently finished the first book. Honesty is the best policy: I’ve already started on this, I’m currently at Chapter 2. In the spirit of competition, I will not be reading further into the story until the starting date this Sunday. It’s a middle-grade book about two friends: 1 witch and 1 princess, whose fairytale is tied up as one.

readthemallthon-badge07-flame

WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renee Ahdieh

I waited until the second book is released so I can binge-read it. So I think I’ll be reading this last for the challenge in order for me to easily continue with The Rose and the Dagger. It’s a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights.

readthemallthon-badge08-earth

CINDER by Marissa Meyer

I’ve heard mixed opinions about this, so it is only for the sake of this challenge that I will be reading this book. If I am able to purchase a new Post-Apocalyptic themed book this weekend, then I’ll probably go with that one. This is such a popular book, a retelling of Cinderella, whose character is a Zyborg (?).

FotorCreated (3)

DONE! I’ll be updating on Instagram [probably], cause it’ll be tiring to give a daily update on my blog, so do stay tuned for that one. Again, there’s a possibility that those books will change all of a sudden, depending on what I’m in the mood to read.

Anyway, I am much motivated by the prize: “BRAGGING RIGHTS”. That’s right. I got friends from the team who are obsessed over Pokemon and they tease me tirelessly about my little knowledge. Looking forward to payback! Shhh. They must not know of my plan, aight? Cool.

If you’re joining, please link down your post! See you in the “competition” trainers!

white-wall

One thought on “#ReadThemAllThon TBR? I say: Challenge Accepted!

Leave a Reply

