Bookish

Initially, I Thought…

Hello, Cabbages!

I’m sure you’re all still surprised by my continuous presence, don’t worry, it surprises me too. But to be honest, I’m really starting to dedicate most of my “working hours” for blogging, which is bad of course—don’t be like me. LOL.

It’s time for another…

FotorCreated

If you’re not familiar with this, it’s a weekly book meme, done by most book bloggers and booktubers. It’s started out by Lainey, but is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts On Tomes. Should you be interested in participating, just head over to the Goodreads group for the list of weekly topics.

BOOKS WE FEEL DIFFERENTLY ABOUT

Okay, I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I don’t re-read books. I’ve only ever done that once, with Isla and the Happily Ever After. So basically, this topic isn’t applicable for me, but because I no longer want to miss a post, I’ve decided to tweak it a little.

→ I pick out books by their synopsis, the more witty and catchy it is, the more I am hooked! (Well, aren’t we all). But over time, I would constantly change my mind about a book, for the simple reason: sudden lack of interest or I’ve lost the initial spark.

So here are a list of 5 books I feel differently about—from wanting to read them and own them right that instant, to meh.

5. SETH BAUMGARTNER’S LOVE MANIFESTO by Eric Luper

7092348Funny story behind this, I was shopping with my mom 6 years ago, when I saw this. I had so many books inside my basket that my mom told me we’ll just go back for this one next time–until it never happened (obviously). I didn’t really forget about it completely but I’ve set it aside, until last year, when I was working in a bookstore, I remembered it. There was only one branch who was carrying it, I had it transferred immediately; when it arrived, I ended up having it reserved. Up to this time, it’s there on my reservations shelf, accumulating dust.

Seth Baumgartner’s Love Manifesto seems like a cute, coming of age story about a boy who’s been dumped at a cafe: Apple Bee’s. (Again, I apologize if I’m wrong, I’m quite lazy to research the actual synopsis).

4. THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE by Jandy Nelson

61U24vS7erL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_I’ve mentioned in my previous posts that I ended up not finishing this one yet after reading a few chapters. The story behind this “impulsive” purchase…

Months before the purchase, I’ve already bought and read I’ll Give You the Sun. I went book shopping after work, and I was in the mood for an emotional book. I thought this was a perfect one because of the synopsis, but as you can tell, I was very wrong with that assumption. Or probably, not entirely wrong, I just couldn’t connect to this book after reading the first few chapters. Hopefully one of these days I’ll pick it up, and find that initial spark that got me into paying money for this book.

3. M IS FOR MAGIC by Neil Gaiman

MForMagicWhile I was working in the bookstore, one of the most frequently asked question at the customer service was: Where are your Neil Gaiman’s books? They’re separated into three, one in Humanities Fiction (Adult Fiction)—Stardust, American Gods, etc. Then you have Children’s Fiction–M is for Magic, Coraline, Fortunately the Milk, etc. And last, the Graphic Novel–Sandman, The Sleeper and the Spindle, etc.

I wanted to buy Stardust cause it’s one of my favorite movies when I was 14 years old, I still have the Children’s version reserved, to be honest. I couldn’t immediately purchase the Humanities version cause it’s SUPER EXPENSIVE. So I opted to buying at least 1 Neil Gaiman book and see what all the hype and rave are about; which brings us to M is for Magic. The synopsis was quite pulling to be honest, it promised intense, thrilling tales for the young readers.

To my dismay, I haven’t read it because I lost interest in it. But of course, maybe this November, I’ll choose this for spooky reads.

2. THE HEIR by Kiera Cass

The-Heir_612x925I know the audience have different opinions about the Selection series. Personally, I loved it! I enjoyed Prince Maxon’s affection for America, and since August of 2015, I’ve been so excited for The Heir and for The Crown. I couldn’t stop raving about it, and then when it came out and there are people saying who doesn’t like the next installment, I didn’t care, I was still keen on buying a copy.

Apparently, after a few months passed since its released, I’ve lost interest. I’ve settled on the trilogy, I was already content with everything that’s happened and ended. I didn’t need complications in the story. I’m set in not reading the last two installments, for me, Kiera Cass’ masterpiece remains a trilogy.

1. THE MURDER COMPLEX by Lindsay Cummings

MurderWe’ve come to the most devastating part of this post. I love anything murder, or about crimes and assassins and hit-mans. When I first saw this, I was like, I NEED THAT BOOK NOW—obviously a sucker for synopsis of books. And being the impulsive buyer that I am, I bought it immediately. The next day, I found out there was a published sequel. I called bookstores to look for a copy, to have it reserved, because I was obviously excited to marathon it.

Almost halfway to the book, I decided I wasn’t enjoying it and that my attention span for it was quickly fading. So I stopped it, hoping that a few days of rest will make me crave for it, but it never came. I ended my search for the 2nd book, The Death Code, and just stayed away from this duology once and for all.

FotorCreated (3)

I know I’ve twisted this week’s topic, but it’s not all that far from the original one. It’s just because I don’t read books twice, I haven’t mastered that yet, but hopefully one of these days, I’ll be able to revisit my favorite novels.

I’d like to hear from you, What makes you buy/borrow or read a book? 

Leave your answers in the comment below, or just leave me a message and let’s talk about random stuff!

Thank you for the continuous support to Written Constellations! You’re a big part of this success, and let’s keep on growing our farm family! Invite other cabbages to subscribe, and if you haven’t yet, please do—we’re welcoming you with open arms!

white-wall

Leave a Reply

