Bookish

Sorry, I’m Not Buying It, Honey

Hello, dear Cabbages!

I’m feeling extremely responsible in blogging this week (*pats shoulder*)–good job, kid. Today’s post will be about characters who, no matter how much I try, I just can’t seem to like them — despite being the hero/heroines.

This post being inspired by Top 5 Wednesday, created by Sam on Thoughts On Tomes. If you want to join, visit the official Goodreads page.

FotorCreated

MOST UNLIKABLE BOOK CHARACTERS

5. ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS by Stephanie Perkins

Anna-and-the-French-KissANNA, bothers me so much. I think I’ve mentioned way before that I enjoyed this particular book the least, compared to the other two. I know people might disagree with me, but hear me out (plus, I’ve really just got my own opinion on things), I’m the kind of person who’s too fickle minded. Whenever I am indecisive about things, I get annoyed with myself, and frustration makes the situation harder.

Let me support my judgment about Anna, being unable to decide on things once and for all. She can’t decide about her feelings towards Etienne, and she once she’s FINALLY accepted the truth about it, I didn’t like that she didn’t know how to act upon it. Personally, and believe me, I say this with all honesty that I would never go for someone who’s already committed. Before I get too worked up on this topic, I’d just like to say, as an end–I need to read this book again, to check if I’d still see her the same way, or if there are hidden learning or discovery that may unfold this second time around.

4. SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL by Soman Chainani

The_School_for_Good_and_Evil_book_1_coverSOPHIE, she irks me so much! I’m still not done with the book, okay? And by the way, she is an exception, I don’t hate her because she’s villainy. I don’t like her because she’s too vain, and too conceited! I don’t appreciate how she’s too sure that she’s good because she “looks” like a princess. Another reason, she bases her relationship with someone from their appearance. Then we have that so-called friendship with Agatha! Sorry, I don’t buy it! Sophie either wanted Agatha as her “good deed”, or she wanted her around so the school master will not have a hard time choosing an Evil student.

I can’t like her no matter what, because I’ve had a similar friend once, back in College. This girl wanted to be the Alpha, to be the best and superior over her supposed minions. She was nice to me and all, but I didn’t know she was always judging me and spreading rumors about me to other people. Yes, I’m not a perfect friend, but I believe in the policy: If you have something to say, address it to my face. I see Sophie the kind of person who is blinded by vanity, in such way that she can no longer see who she truly is—a cold-hearted, selfish brat.

3. THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE by Jandy Nelson

sky_375wLENNIE, is unlikable for my taste, with almost the similar reason with Anna. But really, what annoys me the most is this cycle right here…

Missing her sister → Making out/Having confusing romantic feelings/and any other romantic whatever towards her dead sister’s boyfriend → feeling ashamed, sorry and guilty BUT → will willingly make out or do whatever with her dead sister’s boyfriend once he’s shown interest or made a move → feeling ashamed, guilty, embarrassed, sorry… → REPEAT

I was reading this, cause I loved I’ll Give You the Sun, but 5 chapters in and I’m fed up. I put aside, and I have no idea when I’ll pick it back up. I’m sorry, it just doesn’t sit right with me, when the line of respect’s become blurry. You can’t simply overwrite. I feel ashamed by developing a kid-like crush on a friend’s boyfriend or ex-boyfriend, what more having a secret relationship with my “almost” brother-in law. I hope, I was able to explain this clearly for everybody’s understanding…

2. TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE by Jenny Han

15749186LARA JEAN, OMG! I didn’t finish this book, actually, I didn’t even read it–I listened to it, and 28 minutes later, I can’t get to the end without wanting to smack a book on her head. She says she doesn’t care about boys, but all she does is think about them. I have no problem with the writing a love letter thing, I do that, I think almost every girl does that. I think it’s cute.

But you know what’s not cute? When your younger sister starts to act more mature than you. I’ve been sheltered, I came from a conservative family, and being an only child, that’s too much pressure. Guess what? I adapted quite well. I’ve had crushes, had suitors here and there but I had better things in mind. If the relationship worked out smoothly between me and the guy, I might have given it a go, BUT it didn’t. And I moved on, I brushed it off, cause honestly, boys were the least of my worries. I was fine being weird, and goofy and nerdy aka being myself. I didn’t mind when boys or people in general took interest or noticed my friends more than me, I was in my own bubble, and I made myself happy.

This book make a good contemporary, I don’t argue with that, but it didn’t capture my interest simply because I couldn’t take the whiny Lara Jean. But hey, if you liked this, no judgment from me. We all have our own thing, you get me?

1. TWILIGHT by Stephane Meyer

TwilightbookBELLA SWAN, question, is this the top answer of everyone? KIDDING. (Sorry twilight fans). So…I think I’m going to be sitting in front of my computer for 7 hours, specifying reasons why she’s unlikable. Basically, I don’t like her because she’s got a damsel in distress syndrome. Like Agatha (School for Good and Evil), I don’t appreciate heroines/princesses who waits for their princes to step in, and sweep them off of their feet to live a happily everafter.

And take note, she’s not just your simple Damsel in Distress who waits to be saved. Bella puts herself in situations that are hazardous or would require saving. LIKE UGH. If you’re intentionally putting yourself in danger, please make sure you can handle the situation. Or if you’re not smart enough to see the “booby traps” or danger, please avoid shady areas (actually, this is more of something you’ll usually see in a horror/thriller movie. LOL). Lesson to be learned? Train yourself not to be gullible, always think of what can go wrong, assess the intentions of people. JUST, use your brain cells. Or at least try to save yourself.

FotorCreated (3)

Hope you enjoyed reading, as much as I enjoyed writing it! Okay, don’t come with lighted torches! I know you may be a die-hard fan, or you simply disagree with my choices, but do respect them. I am in now way, trying to personally attack you. These are my opinions ONLY. Today, I’d like to hear what you hate most about a hero/heroine? Leave your answers in the comment section, or just nicely leave me a random message, cause that’s always fun!

As you can see, I’ve put some changes! I made my own T5W meme banner! Hooray for that! *sheepish smile* Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations! Do spread the love, Cabbages–help me grow the vegetable family! Hit subscribe if you haven’t yet. I’m not the funniest person or the well put-together witty blogger (though I try my best), but I offer you book knowledge (sometimes opinions) and AWESOME LIFETIME FRIENDSHIP!

p.s banner photo is mine back in 2013 (Shenzhen, China)

white-wall

4 thoughts on “Sorry, I’m Not Buying It, Honey

  1. Don’t worry, I won’t be lighting you on fire for hating on Bella. Haha. Just kidding. I’m a bit biased when it comes to her because of how Twilight is my first YA book. So no matter how terrible she is – which I know for a fact she is – I still love her! Haha. Normally, I’d hate a character like her, but I can’t seem to hate her, because Twilight brought me back to reading.

    https://myinfinitereadinglist.wordpress.com/2016/07/27/top-5-wednesday-most-unlikable-characters/

    Like

    1. Gotta start looking for a drum full of water, you know for emergency purposes, in case people do decide to light me on fire. 🙂 LOL! Awwwww. That’s so sweet. Me too, I have certain books that other people don’t like, but I do. But I just brush it off, we each have connection to specific books, and others won’t understand that. 🙂

      I’ll be sure to check out your post! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Written Constellations. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’ve just never been one of those popular girls, and so I don’t really like girls who share the same personality as those two! 🙂 LOL!

      Sorry for the late response. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by Written Constellations! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

