Uncategorized

Inherited Genes

Hello, Cabbages! After what seems to be years of reading slump, I am finally back with finishing a YA psychological-thriller!

Rosa_HC-REV-678x1024

MY SISTER ROSA by Justine Larbalestier

Rating: 3.30/3.50 

Personally, I love psychological thrillers. Everything about serial killers and psychopaths immediately gets me hooked! What’s intriguing about this is that it’s the evil doings of a ten-year old child.

Goodreads Summary: What if the most terrifying person you’d ever met was your ten-year old sister? A spine-chilling psychological thriller from one of Australia’s finest YA authors.
‘I promise,’ said Rosa. ‘I won’t kill and I won’t make anyone else kill.’
I can’t see the loophole. Since the guinea pig there’s been nothing. Months now without Rosa killing as much as a mosquito.
As far as I know.

Che Taylor has four items on his list: 1. He wants to spar, not just train in the boxing gym. 2. He wants a girlfriend. 3. He wants to go home. 4. He wants to keep Rosa under control.
Che’s little sister Rosa is smart, talented, pretty, and so good at deception that Che’s convinced she must be a psychopath. She hasn’t hurt anyone yet, but he’s certain it’s just a matter of time. And when their parents move them to New York City, Che longs to return to Sydney and his three best friends. But his first duty is to his sister Rosa, who is playing increasingly complex and disturbing games. Can he protect Rosa from the world – and the world from Rosa?

So, I couldn’t give this a higher rating ’cause it wasn’t as horrifying as I would’ve liked. This book claimed to be skin-crawling and creepy, but I didn’t share the same feeling. It is a good book, thought-provoking and the intriguing factor is superb. But I think it was lacking in the premise arrangement, I’m always waiting for Rosa to do something that will make me want to turn away from adorable sweet-looking girls.

It’s very hard coming up with a review, surprisingly, I can’t find the words to sum up what I feel. It is a good book but it just didn’t blow me away, I was waiting for the climax only to realize that I was 3 pages away from the book. I recommend this to those who enjoyed Gone Girl; the plot wasn’t as twisted and as disturbing but the intrigue is there. One thing though, I think I will still be cautious around kids, always thinking the worse. #paranoid

img-thing

If we’re talking about Psychological thrillers, maybe you’d like to check out Choker by Elizabeth Scott! This haunted me even during the day after finishing the book, and the reveal made the hair on my arm stand up. It was well put together, creating a terrifying and heart-racing experience.

edit

Sometimes too much uniqueness deems us to be different, that somehow something is deeply wrong with us. In my Psychology class, we were taught that becoming a psychopath or a sociopath is one of the things that gets passed on from one generation to another. It’s like your own family heritage. There are a lot of reason really why a person is consumed by darkness. I hope someday this kind of insanity and indifference can be eliminated; because in reality, meeting people like this, ones who are constantly thinking about your death, is just disturbing.

I might try to read more of the author’s work since I still had a good time reading My Sister Rosa.

That’s all for now, cabbages! Sorry if this isn’t as put together.

P.S pictures are found from Google! 

Currently Reading: Twin Reflections

xo,

Spuds. blog

Leave a Reply

