Uncategorized

Countless Existence

Here’s my review for an ARC I received, entitled “The Fray Theory”. The opportunity given was an exchange for an honest review, because this is a debut novel of the author Nelou Keramati. It is the first installment in a series, I think, I’m not sure how many books there will be. I did not choose my casts for this book because I couldn’t picture anyone as I was reading it. I also posted this on goodreads, so go add me as a friend on there to follow my reviews or the other books I’m currently reading.

         

Rate: 3 Clouds (3 stars)

Let’s start with, I am not a fan of the cover. I think it’s too anime-ish, and I just don’t think it gives justice to the story. I hope that somewhere along the way, they change the cover to something else that helps get the plot across.

29090898

First off, I’d like to thank the author for trusting me and my judgment towards this work of art. It was indeed very creative and it is the first ever book I’ve read that deals highly with paranormal and SciFi. It was a good experience though I do have a few issues with the entirety of the novel.

It’s basically about 3 people whose lives coincides with each other, especially because they’re peculiar. They have abilities that are perceived as beyond normal. Okay, now on to the points that I want to raise.

Like I said, I did enjoy reading this book but I wasn’t fully focused. I wasn’t whisked away to the plot, I didn’t feel like I was in the same world as they are. And in terms of the characters, their background wasn’t built well throughout the story that’s why they fell flat. The time I was reading this, the three protagonists did feel as if they’re merely characters in a fiction story. I didn’t establish a connection to any of them, well, except for Romer whose background was a bit knowledgeable compared to the other two. Another is that somehow, the love-triangle is a bit forced between the characters. It came in a sudden manner, like “Oh hey, let’s give the readers something to root for”. I hope this becomes more expanded or fixed by the second book, because in this first book, it’s just not working out in my opinion.

Although this story was written in a third-person perspective, the transition between the character focus wasn’t as smooth as I would’ve liked. With that being said, there were multiple times that I was struggling to follow the concept and the storyline. I caught myself being confused; I don’t know if it’s the writing style or how the plot was explained, but I got a bit lost. Also, often times while reading this, there were certain sentences that I felt a bit unnecessary, like the story would flow out in the same manner if not better, even if they were taken out.

Of course, I still liked a few things about this, one of them being very intriguing. When I asked the author what the synopsis was, I was hooked because I’ve never heard of anything written like this. It was unique; I can’t fully explain the plot because it’s going to give the entire story away. The biggest factor in reading this book is actually the “mystery”. I mean, once you’ve read it you’ll understand when I say that there are books going around that has a similar “peculiarity” or ability as the characters in here, but just the origin of it is what makes it different in some way. The breakthrough in this book was phenomenal for me, the explanation about it, made me question the existence of my reality. I believe the science in this; I think it was well researched and written.

All in all, I gave it 3 stars because I would like to see how the second book will play out. I’ll definitely check out the next book in a few months or years, I have hopes that I will enjoy this series as it continues on. If you enjoyed the movie Jumper, I highly recommend you read this book.

I shall be back with a new post soon!

Oh and over the Easter holiday, I joined an bookish app that I learned from the booktubers that I follow: Books Amino. It’s free for download on both Iphone & Android; so if ever you decide to join, please do follow me: Rave.

Fortuitous Twinkles, Cabbages!

xo,

Rave

 

Currently Reading: 

The Sky Is Everywhere

The Forbidden Wish

Leave a Reply

