Uncategorized

Average Rating

Rating

4.5

I’ve only read two books by Patrick Ness, and to be honest, I was only interested in it because my “crush” loves this author. I still stuck to my rule, wherein I only read books I’m interested in. The first one I read, written by this author was “A Monster Calls”, and I’ve been wanting to read it since I graduated from college (which is like 6 months ago).

I’ve resigned my first work and now, I’m working at a bookstore, I’ve come across the first signed edition of The Rest of Us Just Live Here. It was glow in the dark, and I was sold on that. Anyway, I enjoy reading weird books, probably because I’m an odd duck. For this book, surprisingly, I did not picture how my characters look like. I guess that’s the whole point of the book, like this is the first time I got through a story without visualizing my characters but I definitely felt for them. The writing style is neatly done, no big words to confuse you. It’s direct to the point; black and white, no gray areas.

The beauty of this novel is that, it was so realistic that you look past the magical aspect. It is, I believe, a magical realism. I like this book basically because it related to me in a deep personal level. Instead of focusing on the characters that are special or unique, like most books do, it focused on the not-so-special ones. Mediocre. And wouldn’t you just devour and love a book that makes you realize that sometimes, it’s not about the gifted ones, that there are times that it’s okay to be normal like everybody else.

I think I’m out of practice in terms of writing, or explaining my thoughts. It was very hard getting through this book, a few chapters in and I wanted to stop reading but halfway through it, I removed all the expectations I have for the book and just read it for what it is. It’s nothing special, some may even say it’s boring because it’s your average life in a book. Often times I did feel the struggles of the narrator, Mike. I felt unwanted and mediocre, and I envied people because I thought they were so much more than who I am. What this book made me realize is that we all struggle sometimes, everyday is not a good day. We all feel lost and unwanted in our own ways, like no matter how much company we get, we all still feel lonely sometimes. No matter how much effort, we can go unappreciated or taken for granted. And with this, I started questioning myself, if once in a while we all get those feelings, then how am I different from others? Why am I mediocre or average? But that’s the thing, I am not. We are all special in one way or another, we are all average. It’s just a matter of perspective and how you value yourself. Surrounding yourself with people who understand you and make you feel beautiful or awesome, that’s the best thing you can do for yourself.

This book has given me a lot of realizations, and I understand more things now in general. Some I cannot express in writing, but reading this book has made me look at things differently as well. I hope that people who read this will appreciate it as much as I did, or see the beauty in average. I’m sorry if this is not the best review, I’m just having a hard time summarizing my thoughts.

Fortuitous Twinkles!

Rave.

Currently Reading: Slasher Girls and Monster Boys

Leave a Reply

