Uncategorized

Stephanie Perkins 3-in-1 (Part 2)

LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR

5 stars

5.00

PicMonkey Collage1

Elizabeth Gillies as Lola and Andrew Garfield as Cricket

Song: Who You Love by John Mayer

Goodreads Summary: Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

RAVE REVIEWS:

Before I start, can I just officially put it out there that THIS IS MY NEW FAVORITE! I finally found my bae! My love for this book cannot be justified by words but I shall try.

5.00 star rating explains it all, which means I just have a few concerns but it’s definitely character based rather than the story line. I’m sorry but I wasn’t a fan of Lola despite this being my favorite book in the series. Lola is this disorganized, creative girl who’s had a massive crush on her next door neighbor, Cricket ever since they were kids. I don’t like mess, to be honest. Another thing I don’t like about Lola is that she’s indecisive and in total denial of her feelings for Cricket.

Although, there is an aspect that I love about her, that is her confidence. She has this vibe that says, “I march to the beat of my own drum”. Her fashion style, though I would never wear flashy clothing, is a symbol of her self-confidence and non-conformity, which as you all know I AM.

Lola and the Boy Next Door was such a great read because it’s not just focused on romance and other cliche-ness contemporary novels read (nonetheless, I am still a strong fan reader and supporter of contemporary genre). It’s not only about the love story that went down between Lola and Cricket but rather their life and the society they live in. One of the biggest society issue was discussed here: Homosexuality. You see, Lola was adopted by her biological uncle because her birth mother was an alcoholic and druggie. Now, her uncle has a male live-in partner and together they raised Lola. This novel shatters every “notion” formed that gay couple cannot do right in raising a child because they would either turn out to be a misfit, juvenile delinquent or even gay themselves.

The highlight on Family was one of the things that sold me this book. It showed the importance of family bond, especially in the part where Lola and her dads still help her birth mother with what she needs despite her distraught past. Also, in Cricket’s family, the parents’ personalities were focused on. Calliope’s athlete life was mostly controlled by her mom, but if you read between the lines, you’d understand that they are just misunderstood. Parents’ actions can be misinterpreted as controlling but in fact, they are just proud of how much successful their kid/children had been.

The other aspect I like about this book is that “listening” pretty much avoid conflicts, that treating each other like equals really helps strengthen ones relationship towards another. Reading into Lola’s family life, you’ll see this. Despite the obvious authority of Lola’s father, they have a solid relationship within the family because they listen to one another.

The history of Lola and Cricket is what makes this book close to me. I can relate to both Lola and Cricket’s characters. To Lola because I know what it’s like to have a crush on someone for a long time and then having to deny it to myself to prevent getting hurt. Lola kept on convincing herself that she’s head-over-heels for Max even after Cricket’s return just because she’s had enough emotional experiences with Cricket in the past. As to Cricket, I can relate to his character because I know what it feels to sacrifice a lot and put effort for the person that I love.

In this book, readers came to know the characters well through their family relationship and individual personalities. Family background helped the readers understand as to how they came to be.

Share your own thoughts and comments below! check out the last part of Stephanie Perkins’ series discussion: Isla and the Happily Ever After. Remember: Keep Reading and NERD on!

Fortuitous Twinkles!

Leave a Reply

